hfraelick

Let me introduce you to Kohlrabi

In Recipes on August 8, 2011 at 11:45 PM

I had never tried it before I bought some seedlings this spring from Goose Cove Gardens. It was quite easy to grow and surprisingly tasty. I like it raw, just cut up with other veggies – it’s very crisp and similar in texture to jicama. It’s perfect for dipping in guac.

It is also a great addition to cole slaw. I LOVE cole slaw. Here’s my dressing recipe, a take on Tori Ritchies’ Naneita’s coleslaw recipe from her book, Braises and Stews. This book is my go-to cookbook. The one I use ALL winter long and cook from each Sunday. There is not a recipe in it that I do not like.

To make it easier, I’ll often mix up the dressing ahead of time and prep the cabbage, even the night before, and just refrigerate the cabbage covered with a damp paper towel. DO NOT MIX until 30 min or up to 3 hours before you want to eat it.

Coleslaw with Red Cabbage

serves 6

Ingredients

  • 1 head cabbage, halved, cored, and finely shredded (about 1 pound) – I like to mix red and green
  • julienne 1 kohlrabi head
  • 1/3 cup mayonnaise
  • 1/4 cup apple cider vinegar (I useBraggs)
  • 1/2 freshly squeezed lemon
  • squirt of agave
  • pinch salt and pepper
  • heavy shake of celery seed
Put the cabbage and kohlrabi in a large bowl. In a small bowl, whisk the mayonnaise, vinegar, and lemon juice until smooth. Add remaining ingredients and whisk well. Pour over cabbage mixture. Cover bowl with plastic wrap and refrigerate for at least 30 minutes and up to 3 hours (coleslaw will get moister as it sits). Season with salt to taste and mix well just before serving.


  1. Having tasted this many many times, I can attest to it being amazing. Hands down my favorite. I don’t mind it the next day, when the dressing’s turned pink and you can crack a fat fried egg right on top.

  2. Try adding Fresh raw grated beet to the cole slaw! It’s one of my favorite summer dishes.

    Another dressing I like on Kohlrabi slaw is sesame oil, olive oil, rice wine vinegar, a squeeze of lemon juice, salt and pepper.

Leave a Reply

