hfraelick

Gettin’ buzzed

In Drinks, Recipes on August 10, 2011 at 8:08 AM

Modern milkman anyone? Order up your Kickstand Brooklyn coffee concentrate (in Manhattan and Brooklyn) and bike delivery will bring you this glorious 16oz. bottle. Next week they’re do it all over again and trade your bottle for a new one. Lust. It’s coffee concentrate – they recommend mixing with equal parts water. I’m not sure I would do a straight equal mix though because I like my coffee to resemble rocket fuel.

I am a ‘fiene and I’ll confess that on my last business trip to San Francisco I made it my point to visit each location of Blue Bottle Coffee after being mesmerized by them in the Ferry Building. Meaning, I set my alarm hours early to trek to the Mint Plaza location where they sold me a yogurt parfait (pre-Paleo) that came in a MASON JAR. The mustached baristas were wearing tweed vests and bow ties. The line outside stretched around the block and folks waited patiently (clearly not Massholes) and read the paper using those fab wooden pole holders, like at the library. It means I PAID an entrance fee to SFMOMA just to get up to their rooftop deck at night for a cappuccino. At the time, the desserts were replicas of art in the exhibits. For real. On their website they describe the Ferry Building spot as this:  our baristas pull rotating single-origin espressi. The machine is an elegant gearhead’s delight: a three-group Kees van der Westen Idrocompresso lever machine – the first of its kind in service in the US. We grind and brew drip coffee individually on drip bars of our own design at both bars. I hope you’re impressed. It’s AMAZING. Individually dripped coffee cup, anyone?

Sorry – I just had to get that off my chest. Back to this concentrate – it’s cold brew folks. It’s SO good. Mild, no acid, brings the flavors out – caramel, cocoa, citrus (I made that one up, but it sounds good, right?) – Jefferson Market in A2 had it. I think Lone Gull has it and Pleasant Street sometimes has it. I WANT our house to have it but I have failed at making it more times than once.

Anyone have success with this endeavor and care to share their recipe?

This is the recipe I have tried. I mean, how can it be this hard to mess up? Thinking I didn’t have the grind correct…

Cold-Brewed Ice Coffee
Adapted from The New York Times

Yield: Two drinks

1/3 cup ground coffee (medium-coarse grind is best)
Milk (optional)

1. In a jar, stir together coffee and 1 1/2 cups water. Cover and let rest at room temperature overnight or 12 hours.

2. Strain twice through a coffee filter, a fine-mesh sieve or a sieve lined with cheesecloth. In a tall glass filled with ice, mix equal parts coffee concentrate and water, or to taste. If desired, add milk.

Leave a Reply

