hfraelick

21-day meditation challenge

In Uncategorized on August 13, 2011 at 7:57 AM

August 15th is Monday – you have the weekend to think about it.

One of my top goals on my 30th birthday was to learn to meditate. Yes, on my 30th birthday I took stock and made lists, set goals. That’s how I roll and I was feeling great rolling up on 30. Feeling even better 9 months later.

Still not meditating though. Monday I’ll try it for 21 days. Rick said he would too. Care to join us? You won’t be on your own – it’s guided by master meditation teacher and dean of Chopra Center University – davidji and other master teachers – they’ll be sharing practical techniques for becoming more calm, centered, and happy.

As the Chopra says:

“Studies have shown that it takes 21 days of consistent behavior to change a habit or create a new one, such as establishing a regular exercise routine, eating a healthier diet, or taking time each day for self-care. In just 21 days, you can also establish a fulfilling meditation practice that will give you a lifetime of rewards. You may have dipped your toe in the water with limited success, but this time, you will have daily support and guidance that will enable you to move beyond any past obstacles and experience the many gifts and benefits of meditation.”

I’ll also be getting my bod back to yoga (been a little slacker this summer) – I do better when I’m in Katy’s class at least once a week.

Treetop Yoga's Om sculpture

  1. Today is Day 1 so it’s not too late to sign on up. When my mother confessed she’d been meditating for over 20 years, I was shocked, but then she said, “I had to choose something to force me to breathe when I decided to quick smoking. Smoking is breathing. Meditating is breathing.” Interesting perspective, sure, but it’s so true. We rarely get the chance to just breathe.

  2. Love this! Check out this group, they are amazing, they taught me to meditate and love it and be more disciplined about it, http://www.rinpoche.com/cavv/ they used to meet in gloucester there was a few hospice volunteers I met through them, but now looks like they’re in wenham! I want to go! You will LOVE it! Xoxox

Leave a Reply

