hfraelick

Eggs, butter, macaroons.

In Recipes on August 17, 2011 at 7:00 AM

Yup. They’re a staple around these parts.

If you don’t need sweets or chocolate – well, then you’re just plain better than me. I need ’em. Especially when I’m in the Paleo zone and being strict. An apple with almond butter just won’t cut it. Something that resembles a treat is a must.

These macaroons are gluten free, dairy free, soy free – they contain no refined carbohydrates and SURPRISE – for real, they taste AMAZING. Friends and family alike have agreed.

Marc Christiansen posted the recipe here and I’ve tweaked it slightly and added some notes below. They are no bake and so easy to whip up. Go ahead and try them!

Ingredients:

  • 3 Cups Shredded Coconut (I prefer large flake for this – raw, unsweetened – Let’s do…Organic is one brand I like. If you’re local, Wild Oats in Beverly Farms sells it pre-bagged in bulk and it’s great and cheap)
  • ½ Cup Almond Flour (I use Almond Meal from Trader Joe’s but you can use any almond flour you like)
  • 1 Cup Raw Cocoa Powder (I think the brand matters here – this is where you’re getting a lot of flavor. I happen to love all of the Equal Exchange products, including their Love Buzz coffee and their hot cocoa. Their baking cocoa is amazing. Trader Joe’s has a decent version that’s very reasonably priced.
  • ¾ Cup Agave Nectar (room temperature) (I normally use a little shy of 3/4 cup)
  • ¼ Cup Pure Maple Syrup (room temperature) (I normally just add a drop if I have the good stuff around)
  • ½ Cup Coconut Oil (warmed to a liquid)
  • ½ Tbs. Real Vanilla Extract
  • ½ Real Vanilla Bean Seeds (I have never used these because I never have the pods around, but I’m sure it would be a great addition)
  • ¼ Tsp. Sea Salt

Steps:

  1. Combine all dry ingredients with the exception of the salt (coconut, almond flower and cocoa powder) in a large bowl and mix throughly.
  2. Zap the coconut oil in the microwave until a liquid. Mix the wet ingredients (agave, maple syrup, coconut oil, vanilla extract) and salt then add the seeds from ½ a vanilla bean and stir until incorporated and the salt has dissolved.
  3. Pour the wet ingredients into the dry and mix completely.
  4. Let sit at room temperature for 5 minutes or so to let the oil and other liquids soak into the coconut, cocoa and almond flower.
  5. Using a small scoop (1½ Tbs.), scoop out on to a flexible cutting board or cookie sheet and place in the refrigerator to set up. This usually takes 10 – 20 minutes. Then transfer to a storage container.

Keep refrigerated; while coconut oil is a solid at most room temperatures, it will melt at about 85° F. These can be served cold, I usually set them out a little before serving them to let them warm up to below room temp (still slightly cool) which helps the flavor.

  1. These look simply amazing.

  2. I used to not love coconut. These have changed my life. And they’re easy to boot.

  3. H, I just made these and they are just amazing!!! Perfect for that little craving!

Leave a Reply

