hfraelick

Successful Science Experiments

In Canning, Recipes on October 6, 2011 at 10:47 AM

Yesterday was exactly two weeks since I embarked on some pickling experiments. As I mentioned in a past post I’m dying to be a part of the canning experience. The whole concept of pickling/canning is so foreign to me but I WANT to be skilled at it. There is so much that can be canned and so much summer produce to creatively have access to all year. I will just keep at it. There was some success and some failure BUT more of the former!

First thing I learned – if you’re going to try to wing it, make sure your pot is large enough. Duh. I failed to process that the jars I had were quite big and they would not submerge into that pot of boiling water. Oh, well. They still seal quite nicely when the pickling liquid is hot and it just means they won’t store on the shelf. Most likely if you’re new to pickling/canning you’ll just want to eat whatever you made anyway!

One concoction turned into a bowl of fuzzy green beans – not exactly the spicy accompaniment to Bloody Mary’s I had hoped for.

The sugar snap peas though – SCORE! They are so sour and a little spicy and very crisp still.

I used this recipe from Smitten Kitchen (adapted from a few different sources) and added more spice – Szechuan peppercorns, extra garlic, extra peppers from our garden. I would actually add even more spice next time (we like thing HOTT!)

Pickled Sugar Snap Peas

1 1/4 cups white distilled vinegar
1 1/4 cups cold water
1 tablespoon kosher or pickling salt
1 tablespoon sugar (I used coconut sugar)
1 pound sugar snap peas, stems trimmed and strings removed
4 garlic cloves, sliced
1 or 2 small dried chile peppers, slit lengthwise or a couple pinches dried red pepper flakes

In a nonreactive saucepan, heat the vinegar with the salt and sugar until they are dissolved. Remove from the heat, and add the cold water. (This gives you a leg up on getting the liquid to cooling the liquid.)

When the vinegar mixture is cool, pack the sugar snaps, garlic and chile peppers or flakes into a 1-quart jar or bowl, and pour the brine over it. Cover with a non-reactive cap, or, er, plastic wrap. Pyrex is your best friend here – big bowl with the matching cover – so easy.

Store the bowl in the refrigerator for two weeks before eating the pickled peas – you can then transfer to a jar and eat or share!

Up next, the success and oddity of pickled spicy nectarines. Seriously, they’re good!

  1. Wowzers!
    This is amazing!
    I was always TERRIBLE at science at school, but when it’s cooking AND science combined, I find it absolutely fascinating. Pickled sugar snaps is seriously inspired – thanks very much…may give it a go myself if I get my hands on a big jar of vinegar….

  2. […] This event was particularly feel good (helped along by the bountiful libations) because proceeds went to the Vermont Farm Disaster Relief Fund, and having just been in VT last weekend I can attest to the need for us to support these small farms in our region. I was shocked by the devastation I saw and this event was beyond good cause for celebration. Local food purveyors and sponsors meant our ticket money went to VT – cheers to them! Some of my local faves include: Berkshire Mountain Distillers, Farnum Hill Ciders, Cape Ann Brewing Co., Privateer Rum, Taza chocolate….the Maitlaind Mountain Farm pickles were ridiculous. You know I love me some good pickling… […]

Leave a Reply

