hfraelick

Sour milk custard?

In Recipes on November 18, 2011 at 7:30 AM

Yup. Custard pudding, actually. It was really tasty too – especially because it only has 4 ingredients!

Before we dive into the recipe I should probably clarify why I’m talking milk at all since we stopped drinking milk and started avoiding most dairy since January when we started eating Paleo. There are plenty of advocates for keeping heavy cream, butter and cheese IN the Paleo diet sphere, since they are mostly fat and have little to no lactose as it has been either skimmed off or consumed by fermentation. I have found that when I cut out yogurt and milk and half and half I stopped waking up congested. Cool. Heavy cream had no such response so I have kept using it. And loving it.

But, I also kept reading about the benefits of raw dairy and I really love raw milk. When we lived in A2 we bought it at the farmer’s market weekly and it was amazing. I started thinking that if I could source raw milk from local grass-fed cows it would be an ideal source of fat and whey protein. So, I’m doing an experiment to see how I feel. To see if I feel good working out or if I like have milk as an option in my diet. The other thought is that if I let the milk sour or ferment I can make my own yogurt or kefirs and the benefits of those are widely accepted in Paleo-land. Win:win. Plus I also found raw heavy cream. Heaven.

So, in case you think I’m crazy there is a difference between milk that has gone bad and milk that has soured. Raw milk or cream that has soured is actually NOT harmful or dangerous, but rather chock full of beneficial enzymes and good bacteria! However, pasteurized milk is dangerous, as it is lacking these enzymes and bacteria, and rather than souring it putrefies. Gross. I started hunting and there are some uses for soured raw milk from the Weston Price Foundation:

  • Make homemade whey and cream cheese with the soured milk (leave the milk on the counter until it fully separates. Strain through a strainer or colander lined with tea towel). Try blending the cream cheese with a few strawberries and maple syrup for a delicious spread for sprouted bagels.
  • Soak organic pancake mix overnight in soured milk. This approach results in much tastier, fluffier, and healthier pancakes than mixing with water and cooking immediately.
  • Use soured milk or cream to make scrambled eggs.
  • Use soured milk to make custard pudding or creme brulée (see recipes below).
  • Use soured cream on a baked potato or spread on a sandwich instead of mayonnaise.
  • Mix a tablespoon of soured cream in a bowl of soup to liven it up and make it digestible.
  • Use soured milk instead of whey to soak oatmeal overnight.
  • Mix carob powder and a little rapadura into slightly soured milk and give to your kids as “chocolate milk” They’ll never know the difference (mine don’t!) and it’s good for them.
  • Use soured cream to make sweet potato casserole (see recipe below).
  • Use soured cream to make meatloaf (see Nourishing Traditions, page 356).
  • Warm slightly soured milk on the stove with some cocoa powder and Rapadura to make fabulous hot chocolate.

We love custard and so I tried this simple Custard Pudding from Weston A. Price and it was so yummy!

Ingredients

  • 3 eggs
  • 1 3/4 cups soured, raw milk
  • 1/4 cup Rapadura or maple syrup (maple syrup gives a kind of “flan” taste) I used maple syrup, duh
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla
  • 1/8 teaspoon sea salt

Whip together in baking dish. Cook at 400 degrees for about 45 minutes or until knife or toothpick comes out clean. Cool, serve.
Note: I’ve also made this with 1/2 soured cream and 1/2 soured milk. Total decadence!

What is your take on dairy? There are plenty of negative posts about dairy but here are a few positive posts to get you going if you care to read more:

  1. I discovered the term recently and like it, “Lacto-Paleo”. I just like my dairy too much, and it doesnt cause me problems. I have definitely tried to cut back, and, i used cream instead of milk in my coffee now (no sugar!), but, cutting it out completely just isn’t going to happen in this house.

    My question on the raw milk is, isn’t it illegal to sell unpasteurized milk? I am just curious how the farms sell it and stay out of trouble? I know there are some farms around here that sell it, but its not advertised.

  2. This was delicious! Thanks for the quick, easy recipe. (We ate the whole pan in one go… *grin-sigh*)

  3. LOVE raw dairy. Make yogurt, butter, cheese, buttermilk, cream cheese etc. You just need to be careful how milk is processed and what type if cows is it coming from? A1 or A2? That can make a big difference. Also, are they grass fed and free roaming or fed grains and basically garbage, cooped up and sitting on manure? Good milk is a healthy superfood, but grocery store milk- not so much.

Leave a Reply

