hfraelick

Keepin’ It Clean

In Recipes on November 8, 2011 at 11:48 AM

Since changing my diet last January my skin seems to agree… the only time it changes is when I slip up and eat those sugars. I saw this post on Cleansing, Refined from CaveGirlEats and I liked the sound of it. It’s been a week and I’m loving it – you may want to ditch all those chemical-based beauty products and try something a little simpler.

What you’ll need – Castor oil, sunflower seed oil and Jojoba or coconut oil – that’s it.

Hexane-Free & Certified* Pure, Cold Pressed Castor Oil is what I bought

If you’re local The Common Crow carries all of these items and great little blue bottles that purchased to put my oils in so I don’t have to keep big bottles in the bathroom. If you use coconut oil, just know that it’s a solid at room temperature and you’ll need to warm it up under hot water to liquify it.

Evenings

To cleanse: mix 1 part Castor oil to 2 Sunflower Seed oil. Apply a generous amount of the mixture to dry skin, massage for a few minutes, then apply a very warm washcloth to face to steam the pores open, holding the hot cloth on  skin for a few minutes. Repeat if you wear a lot of makeup or need an extra cleanse.

To moisturize: Pat  skin dry, then add a thin layer of Jojoba or Coconut oil.

Mornings

To cleanse:  splash water on  face or add a teaspoon of baking soda to a dash of water and VERY gently sweep the baking soda across  skin for a gentle exfoliant.

To moisturize:  Finish with Jojoba or Coconut oil again.

Leave a comment